The Msgr. Jimmy Johnston Award

The 2016 Msgr. Johnston Award recipient is:

Bob Reid


2016 Bob Brunette 2015 George Mihaljevic; 2014 Rich Meisemann, 2013 Dave Berwin, 2012 John and Peter Traina,
2011 Bob Kehoe, 2010 Jack Lyons

2009 The Kutis Family; 2008 Ray "Goose" Gilliam; 2007 Frank Borghi; 2006 Jack Mackenzie;
2005 Harry Keough; 2004 Leo Sanders; 2003 Bob Fuchs; 2002 Mike Kalist & Paul Scovill;
2001 Joe Numi; 2000 Msgr. Larry Walsh

1999 Frank Gambaro, 1998 Dr. Ed Flynn, 1997 Patrick Lee, 1996 Charlie Shinabargar, 1995 Art Hofer , 1994 Jim Dykes, 1993 Rev. Larry Herzog, 1992 Terry Michler , 1991 John Schaper, 1990 Rev. Jim Flood

1989 Greg Raftery, 1988 Mayor Jim Eagan, 1987 Ed Lovinguth, 1986 Ebbie Dunn , 1985 Larry Walsh , 1984 Pete Sorber , 1983 Tom Twellman, 1982 Bob Guelker, 1981 Gene Baker , 1980 Pat McBride

1979 Ron Coleman


The 1919-1920 Soccer Season saw the Ben Millers of the Local amatuer league win the National Open Cup Title by besting a team of professionals from Fore River, Mass. The Ben Millers were composed of all native St. Louisans, the first of many National Championships made up of American born players to capture the Cup. The winning goal was scored by the great Jimmie Dunn, as the Millers won 2-1. The captain and halfback was Msgr. Jimmie Johnston (at that time he was a seminarian). In 1970, Msgr. Johnston organized a 50th reunion of the remaining members of that squad. They gathered at the Carpenters Hall on Hampton, and had such a great time, they decided to do it again in 1971 and invite other Soccer luminaries of the area to join them. Thus was born the "OLD TIME SOCCER PLAYERS HALL OF FAME IN ST. LOUIS". Twenty-two stars of the past were inducted on November 11, 1971. Since then, nearly 700 players, coaches, sponsors, referees and administrators from the past 120 years have been enshrined, many posthumously. In 2003, the organization adopted the name of "THE ST. LOUIS SOCCER HALL OF FAME". Msgr. Jimmy Johnston was born on December 8, 1896 and passed away June 11, 1979. A memorial plaque in his honor is presented at the yearly induction dinner to an individual who has possessed the same passion for the game and has spread the gospel of Soccer to make it the greatest sport in the world.